Themes: About us
12. November 2014

Pro-Rail Alliance receives European Rail Congress Award

Prestigious award for ‘Best Partnership of the Year’

London/Berlin, November 12, 2014. Two nominations, one award. At the European Rail Congress in London last night, the German Pro-Rail Alliance was given the award for ‘Best Partnership of the Year’.
“We are especially proud to receive this award, which is made on a European level, and after nearly 15 years, we feel that it is an endorsement of our commitment towards rail transport,” said Dirk Flege, managing director of the Pro-Rail Alliance, on Tuesday in Berlin.
Jolanta Skalska and Barbara Mauersberg are the happy winners – accompanied by the evening’s moderator, the British journalist Michael Portillo (left) and Mark Garrity, Sales and Marketing Director for Thales Ground Transportation Systems UK (right).
The alliance of 21 civil society non-profit organisations and 125 supporting members from a wide range of railway sector companies – more than at any time in the history of the alliance – is committed to increasing rail transport’s market share, securing sufficient funding, and to establishing the necessary competitive environment. The member organisations that make up the Pro-Rail Alliance represent a total of more than 2.5 million people. The companies in its rail sector membership have a combined annual turnover of more than 35 billion euros.

Also nominated for ‘Customer Service Excellence’
Alongside the nomination for the ‘Best Partnership of the Year’, the Pro-Rail Alliance was also shortlisted for the European Rail Congress award category ‘Customer Service Excellence’ in recognition for its annual ‘Big-hearted Rail Employee’ competition.
The European Rail Congress is a meeting point for the rail sector from right across Europe. It discusses the opportunities and challenges for the future of the sector. The award winners are selected by an international jury with representatives from the European Commission, European Passenger Federation, European Rail Freight Association, and the European Rail Infrastructure Managers.