06. April 2013

Train Station of the Year - which station will win in 2013?

Nominations are now being accepted

Everybody can participate: travellers can nominate their favourite station until June 30.

Berlin, April 6, 2013. This year’s ‘Train Station of the Year’ competition is now beginning. Rail travellers and the public from the whole of Germany are now being called upon to choose their favourites from a list of 5400 train stations. Armed with these nominations, the jury will pay incognito visits to the top twenty favourite stations, with the winners being announced in August.

Last year, 2400 rail travellers nominated their favourite station. The German Pro-Rail Alliance reckons that there will be a large increase in nominations by the public in 2013.
“Train stations are important for everybody,” said Dirk Flege, the managing director of the Pro-Rail Alliance on Saturday in Berlin. “Many of the nominations contain long and touching explanations as to why the traveller thinks that their favourite station should win. This is very valuable for the jury because it helps to put us on the right track.”

The Station of the Year competition is now in its tenth year. Two awards are made, one each for a train station in a city and in a town. The previous winners were 2012: Bremen (city category) and Aschaffenburg. 2011: Leipzig and Halberstadt, 2010: Darmstadt and Baden-Baden, 2009: Erfurt and Uelzen, 2008: Karlsruhe and Schwerin, 2007: Berlin Main Station and Landsberg am Lech, 2006: Hamburg Dammtor and Oberstdorf, 2005: Mannheim and Wismar, and 2004: Hannover and Lübben. Last year, the jury also made a special tourism award for stations that are in demand during the holiday season. This award went to Bad Schandau in Saxony in 2012.

Weitere Informationen